top of page

VOLUNTEERS TO ROBIN LYNN'S JOURNEY, THIS POST IS TO THANK YOU, AND BRING YOU UP TO DATE ON SOME


IF ROBIN KNEW ALL THAT OUR VOLUNTEERS HAVE BEEN DOING TO HELP HER, SHE WOULD BE SMILING AT EACH AND EVERYONE OF YOU LIKE SHE IS IN THIS PICTURE.

Yes, I always refer to that smile, because thankfully I have been able to keep Robin out of the ugly, twisted tale, as I have dealt day in, and day out trying to keep her safe, unnecessarily trying to justify her real health issues, while DDS ignored just what was happening in her group home, and to her medical records. He medical records are littered with the reports to doctors and entries made into them, from this untrained group home operator's staff. Everything little and big - where will she live next, is on hold. As guardian, my days have great highs and lows. Just when I think we've made progress, something else jumps up, and you want to scream, and just finally say, "Enough! You've done enough to her! DDS, ultimately you have allowed your group home operator to harm her emotionally, physically, and taken over almost every breathing moment that I have. If you haven't read it already, go to the article on this blog that contains the Hartford Courant's terrifying article, on the deaths that have occurred to CT developmentally disabled adults living in group homes. The article is titled "DEVELOPMENTALLY DISABLED CLIENTS DIED, WHEN THE GOVERNOR, AND DDS ALLOWED THE SAME THINGS THEY ARE IGNORING AGAIN IN ROBIN LYNN'S CASE! WILL ROBIN LYNN BE NEXT, AS THEY DELAY HELPING HER, AND ALLOWING HER GROUP HOME OPERATOR TO RUN THEM, AND COVER UP EXACTLY WHAT IS HAPPENING TO ROBIN LYNN? GOVERNOR MALLOY HASN'T LEARNED A THING! DDS HASN'T LEARNED A THING, SINCE THIS 2013 INVESTIGATIVE REPORT BY THE HARTFORD COURANT! READ THE FACTS!" After I published that article on the blog, I copied it and sent it to the email address of every level of DDS staff that I had addresses for with this noted in the subject line of the SUBJECT line: "ISN'T IT TIME YOU HELPED ME HELP ROBIN LYNN BEFORE IT COMES TO THIS FOR ROBIN?"

THE GOOD NEWS:

I received a quick offer from the DDS Commissioner for a telephone conference call. We agreed to a call on that very day - June 12, at noon. The discussions of that meeting should remain between the parties. I won't go into it at this point. I felt that it was important that you receive an update to the fact that we had been heard. There will be more meetings. I did want to make sure that once we had contact with DDS Commissioner Jordan A. Scheff's office, that he personally has stayed in contact with me, as we move through the steps we agreed to in the June 12th meeting.

In the mean time a recent assessment of her "risk for falls", indicates she is at high risk. I asked the group home operator, and DDS whether they thought she got that way yesterday. I've been asking all parties to consider what isn't drop seizure, may be her aging, deteriorating body. This weekend a recliner with massage, heat, etc. was delivered for her. Usually, as guardian I am asked to approve large expenses - not this time. Why would she need it if her falls are behavioral?

Robin Lynn's Journey volunteers, I hope you will follow the blog, and my postings on Facebook, because I've reached points in the past where I thought we had made real progress, and just because we are in conversation with the Commissioner's Office, doesn't mean Robin Lynn's serious problems are over. I do thank you for taking us this far!

bottom of page